Weaving?

Here I go down a new crafting rabbit hole. Whoops. My folks came out to visit and long story short, the weather was terrible, flights were canceled and they drove from NY to UT with a vengeance. Which meant they had some room in the truck for extra necessities. Like a loom from 1972.

20170326_075113.jpg

My neighbor gave me this last winter, it was her loom and she said she hasn’t used it since the golden age of plaid and feathered hair. So the yarn on there is authentic 70’s acrylic. It was so nice of her to give it to me, and I was disappointed that I didn’t use it last year. Now that my yarn stash and I are together once more, I think I have the perfect yarn to use. My sister Emily has been kind enough to bring me back wool the last few times she has come home from Chile. Some of the yarn is soft enough to wear next to your skin, and some of it is more rustic. What I’ve got left is the latter, and I’ve been thinking about knitting a rug out of it, but now I’m gonna weave a rug.

wp-1490537665269.jpg

But I’m used to using two sticks to make stuff, and this loom has an awful lot more than two sticks going on. There seem to be a lot of delicate parts, things that move, and things that are mysteriously attached to the rest of it. It’s fairly intimidating and I have no idea what I’m doing, but that’s never stopped me before!

When all bets are off, plow forward in ignorance. -Ancient Chinese Proverb

20170326_075331.jpg

I’d love to hear your tips or resources for beginner weavers. There is a direction booklet that came along in the package but I am a Millenial after all, and I’m sure there are excellent learning tools available online.

I’m also looking for tips on how to take pictures somewhere with terrible lighting because my landlord has inexplicably decided that a strange mix of bizarre brown paint colors and minimal windows really adds a certain je ne sais quoi the house.

I’m excited to learn how to weave and judging by the enthralled look the lady on the package has, I’m going to have a hell of a lot of fun doing it. Or maybe it’s the jaunty poncho she’s wearing that’s got her so excited. Hard tellin’ not knowin’.

One thought on “Weaving?

Leave a Reply

