Turns Out It’s Hot In Arizona

Well, summer has officially left us and fall has hit in full force. I was happily knitting away on a couple winter sweaters while the weather cooled off in New York  and then BAM I moved back west and I’m in Arizona for the time being, where it is currently 93 degrees and my sweaty little knitting fingers can’t bear to cable anything.

I was on quite a sock roll until my mother, the sock napper, stole what I had been working on and literally walked off in them. I have switched to knitting my Sizzle Pop shawl by Knit Graffiti, which hasn’t gotten a formal intro here.

It’s a brioche shawl that uses two colors plus increases and decreases to create a graphic pattern that is happiest in a crazy color combo. It is challenging in all the main color right side rows, but the rest of the rows are easy to memorize which makes a nice rhythm of being engaging, but not mind bogglingly difficult the whole time.

I’m using Knit Picks Stroll tonal for the main color, and a yarn I bought on this trip in Durango. I can’t remember the name or colorway whatsoever but it sure is pretty.

I’m going to keep marching on with this one until my fingers get too slick to hold needles, then we might have to reevaluate.

4 thoughts on “Turns Out It’s Hot In Arizona

  1. I think that Steven West would appreciate where you are knitting! And, two socks that don’t match are still better than one. Love Mom#keepingyoursocks

Leave a Reply

