Brioche With A View

I am writing from the road in Colorado. I’m out visiting my man friend and we are doing what we like doing best, which is driving around. There is so much to see on our continent that is reasonably easy to get to–so why not go see it?

We started out road tripping around in my tiny Toyota Yaris a few years ago and that was all well and good–the gas mileage was ridiculous and we could car camp out of it pretty easily. But a couple years ago we upgraded in a major way to a truck camper that makes us feel like we’re living in luxury. A refridgerator and a real bed are pretty excellent amenities. We’ve named the rig Chief Whitesmoke and we’ve been all over in it. We’ve done lots of little weekend trips here and there and our big trip to Mexico was in Chief Whitesmoke. We are on a quick tour of southern Colorado and I am doing some major roadtrip knitting–which I think may be my favorite kind of knitting. I love to knit and look outside and munch on candy. Knitting on a trip also seems to tie my project to the place and time of the trip too, which makes the memory of the trip a little more tangible for me.

Right now I am working on a test knit for a brioche cardigan that is really captivating. I’ve knit brioche before but never with increases and decreases. It is so clever and really makes me want to keep knitting. I’ll link the project on Ravelry and post some links to the designer when I finish up the sweater and not writing on my phone. For now, here’s some pictures of sunny Colorado and brioche!

image

image

image

image

image

image

image

3 thoughts on “Brioche With A View

  1. I’m a huge fan of road trips. In Europe they are slightly harder to do, but in Canada and the USA they are amazing. For us that always means a long flight before and only limited time but how cool is it to have it all right in front of you!

    1. Yeah I feel pretty lucky. I tend to forget how big the US is until I go drive around again. There is so much to see here, but I would love to switch places with you and travel around Europe too!!

Leave a Reply

