Whoa.

What a ride the last few months have been. Apologies for not posting but I was in Mexico and Central America where internet is not so bueno and I was too busy having fun. So…sorrynotsorry. However, I am back in the land of the free (and hot showers and drinkable water and roads without potholes) and I am hoping to post more regularly now that my life has slowed down a bit. I am back in NY with my parents working in their ski shop as well as coaching some ski racing so that I can hopefully save some money for some future wooly ventures…

I knit quite a bit on our three month overland trip through Mexico, Belize and Guatemala. At times it was so hot that I couldn’t put my arms next to my sides, but did that stop me from knitting? NOPE. I will post some pictures of the finished projects the next time I post, but I finshed up some socks, a shawl, a t shirt, and half a tunic. I also started designing a pattern for a vest that I left on the plane home. Boo. I have a lot to write about in terms of knitting on the trip and projects I’ve been working on since I’ve been home, but I don’t want to overload myself and you with all of them at once. So for now, here are some highlights from our trip.

dsc_1540_1.jpg
Chacala, Nayarit
dsc_1541_1.jpg
Chacala, Nayarit
dsc_1584_1.jpg
Knitting in Michoacan
dsc_1672_1.jpg
Oaxaca state from the road
dsc_1707_1.jpg
Teotitlan de Valle, Oaxaca
dsc_1703_1.jpg
Yarn in Oaxaca! (More on this later)
dsc_1708.jpg
Hand dyed, woven rug from Oaxaca
dsc_1719_1.jpg
Hierve el Agua, Oaxaca
dsc_1742.jpg
Beach in Oaxaca
dsc_1814.jpg
Knitted socks from Oaxaca!
dsc_1835.jpg
Las Nubes, Chiapas
dsc_0006.jpg
Chetumal, Quintana Roo
dsc_0044.jpg
Placencia, Belize
dsc_0060.jpg
Tikal, Guatemala
dsc_0119.jpg
Antigua, Guatemala
dsc_1557_1.jpg
Sayulita, Nayarit
dsc_1613.jpg
Also we brought home a puppy…

 

5 thoughts on “Whoa.

    1. Thanks! Latin America is a beautiful place…I want to go back. My first couple tries at knitting were pretty ugly. Pick a small project like a headband and then you get way better instant gratification!

Leave a Reply

