Salmon River Socks

And so ends another summer of rafting. I just finished my 8th season guiding, which I can’t really believe. The seasons sure are adding up quickly. It was a perfectly busy season and everyone who works seasonally here in Stanley seems happy to be done. Working every day in such a physical capacity can get tiring. So to relax a little, my friends and I decided to do a little more rafting! Seems crazy to go do exactly what made us tired but river trips are a whole different ball game when they’re not work.

image
image

image

image

Rafting requires an absurd amount of gear to make everything go smoothly, but that absurd amount of gear is also the most fun part. Got a croquet set? Strap it to the boat. Tiki torches? Perfect. Giant inflatable black swan that two people can fit on? Great. Rafting sure ain’t backpacking. Lucky for me, as long as I don’t poke holes in any more drybags, I am allowed to throw my knitting into the boat as well.
image

I went to the big city of Ketchum two weeks ago and restocked my sock yarn supply. I got some self patterning sock yarn in his and hers colors. My man friend and I will have entirely matching feet before he knows it. I am sure he will be just as excited about this idea as I am.
image
image
image

The yarn is some crazy Italian name and I lost the ball band. No telling what it was. It looks sort of circus like which I enjoy. I did my standard man size socks, 72 stitches and plain with slip stitch heels. I’m going to toot my own horn here and point out that good looking heel turn. My best yet I do believe. These were fun socks to knit on the river, and I was responsible with my needle placement. It wasn’t even me that popped the swan.

One thought on “Salmon River Socks

Leave a Reply

