Whew

The summer is finally winding down here in beautiful Stanley, Idaho. There is another week or so left for commercial rafting, but the kids are back in school and business is slowing down. It’s a short rafting season which is good and bad. Not much time to make money but we raft almost every day to make up for that. It is a great way to spend the summer and I feel lucky to have it be my job but man oh man am I worn out. As of today, I have taken 50 commercial trips down the Salmon, learned approximately 250 names, given 25 safety talks, fished a dozen people out of the river, given hundreds of paddle commands, and put my paddle in the water thousands (not kidding) of times. My body can tell. Time to knit.

There are quite a few other knitters my age in Stanley which is super exciting! There have been many evenings spent on the porch drinking cocktails and knitting. And some stitches ripped out because cocktails and knitting go together super well until they don’t. My main porch knitting project has been the Hue Shift Afghan. I don’t have to pay too much attention to it, and each square is really satisfying. I almost have the first quarter of it done. There are 100 squares total and it is broken up into fourths- each having 25 squares. Each square takes me around 45 minutes. I love watching it come together.

image

I am also working on another project with some yarn I got at a craft fair here. It’s 100% alpaca from a farm in Idaho. The lady who sold it to me thought I was crazy for buying a fingering weight skein. Turns out she’s not a very good salesperson. I bought it and it is beautiful. I decided I wanted to make a classic lace shawl. I chose the Spice Trade shawl and it is really fun to knit. The lace is getting tricky and I can’t knit it and talk at the same time anymore, but I’m about halfway done I think.

image

I also knit a tank top with the intent to write a pattern for it, but it definitely needs some tweaking. There are babies being born to friends and some knitting will be happening for those cute little guys and gals. Until then, some highlights from this summer…

image

image

image

image

image

image

image

image

5 thoughts on “Whew

  1. I love this Blog.
    You inspire me Cassandra… These pictures are incredible. Thank you! We were hoping to join you in Stanley this summer, but our life, which is NOT on the river these days, took over. Your photos are helping my cause for next summer though:)

Leave a Reply

